Inspiration Board #21: S’more Please!

12 Sep

Happy Monday readers, once again! This past week has been a whirlwind for me. On Saturday my Senior thesis came to life as the events building at JMU was transformed into “Camp Madison”, a Summer Camp Theme Dinner for 125 guests (friends, family, faculty, etc.) to enjoy. In a team of five, we developed the entire evening from the food to the decor to the favors guests took home at the end of the night. It was a crazy 9 months of planning but it was so worth it to be able to see all of our hard work pay off so successfully! I just wish Shawn had been there to see it! I was actually a Back of House Manager which meant I was responsible for overseeing the production and service of all the food. This was an entirely different world for me since I obviously enjoy being intimately up front and personal with all the details, but SUCH a rewarding experience in so many ways!

Perks of working in the kitchen: 1. getting to make up excuses to have food tastings all day… 2. getting to wear comfy clothes cuz very few people see you… 3. getting to throw spontaneous dance parties in the middle of the kitchen with all the staff.

At the beginning of the year I can honestly say I was terrified to take post in the kitchen but looking back I would not have changed a thing because I have grown so much in this adventure…so much more than I could have ever imagined! I encourage all of you this week, this month, or even this year to build the courage to face something that makes you nervous/intimidated/anxious/all of the above? and challenge it, overcome it, and grow from it!

Still feeling inspired by the summer camp theme, I decided to use this week to get the last bit of summer and camp out of my system! Convenient, yes?! Brilliant I think! Go ahead and get inspired by some summer/camp memories… WARNING: you may or may not feel a sudden craving for a s’more (or two!) at the end of this post.  😉

Row 1: menu, cake, dress

Row 2: boutonniere, table, lantern

Row 3: logs, s’mores kit, invitation suite

Leave a Reply

